R44397 – NASA: FY2017 Budget and Appropriations – 9/6/2016


NASA: FY2017 Budget and Appropriations


Author: Daniel Morgan, Specialist in Science and Technology Policy
Pages: 10

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) was created in 1958 by the National Aeronautics and Space Act (P.L. 85-568) to conduct civilian space and aeronautics activities. It has four mission directorates. The Science Mission Directorate manages robotic science missions, such as the Hubble Space Telescope, the Mars rover Curiosity, and satellites for Earth science research. The Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate conducts research and development on aircraft and aviation systems. The Space Technology Mission Directorate develops new technologies for use in future space missions, such as advanced propulsion and laser communications. The Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate is responsible for human spaceflight activities, including the International Space Station and development efforts for future crewed spacecraft. In addition, NASA’s Office of Education manages formal and informal education programs for school children, college and university students, and the general public. Bills: H.R. 2029